Finishing the edges of a Grandmother’s Flower Garden Quilt

I work at Mainely Sewing in Nobleboro (and Wiscasset) Maine.  Marge (the owner) asked if I wanted a customer’s project to do. The customer wanted it quilted and bound.  I took the bag home and to my surprise when I opened it, it was a Grandmother’s Flower Garden.  Now the quilting was the easy part.  How in the world was I going to  bind a quilt with such an irregular shape to the edges?  I went on Youtube and indeed there was a video of a woman showing how to add a facing.  Check out    Finishing Quilt Edges by Marci Baker of Alicia’s Attic.  It worked really well but was very time consuming.  I spent five hours just adding the facing, turning it and poking the points out.  I still need to hand stitch the facing to the back.  It looks nice though.

If you have any questions regarding quilting, Youtube is amazing.  There are videos on almost anything.  I have a Gammill Longarm Quilting machine.  One day, I needed to change a spring that broke.  The manual was really no help.  Sure enough, there was a video showing how to do it.

Thanks to Marci Baker for helping me finish a hard project.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

